Utah Admin. Code 156-17b-309

Current through Bulletin 2024-13, July 1, 2024
Section R156-17b-309 - Continuing Education

In accordance with Section 58-17b-310 and Subsections 58-1-203(1)(g) and 58-1-308(3)(b), the continuing education (CE) requirements for renewal or reinstatement of a pharmacist or pharmacy technician license for each two-year renewal cycle are established as follows:

(1) A pharmacist shall complete at least 30 CE hours, that shall include at minimum:
(a) 12 hours of live or technology-enabled participation in lectures, seminars, or workshops;
(b) 15 hours in one or more of the following topics:
(i) disease state management-drug therapy;
(ii) AIDS therapy;
(iii) patient safety; or
(iv) immunizations;
(c) one hour of pharmacy law or ethics;
(d) if engaging in the administration of vaccines as defined in Section R156-17b-621, two hours in vaccine-related topics, which hours may be counted as part of the 15 hours required under Subsection (1)(b);
(e) if engaging in the administration of prescription drugs or devices as defined in Section R156-17b-621 or R156-17b-625, two hours in topics related to the administration of those prescription drugs or devices; and
(f) if dispensing a self-administered hormonal contraceptive in accordance with Title 26, Chapter 62, Family Planning Access Act as defined in R156-17b-621b, two hours in topics related to hormonal contraceptive therapy.
(2)
(a) A pharmacy technician shall complete at least 20 CE hours, which shall include at minimum:
(i) six hours of live or technology-enabled participation at lectures, seminars, or workshops;
(ii) one hour of pharmacy law or ethics; and
(iii) if engaging in the administration of vaccines as defined in Section R156-17b-621, two hours in vaccine-related topics.
(b) Current PTCB or ExCPT certification shall fulfill each CE requirements for a pharmacy technician, except for vaccine-related topic hours that may be required under Subsection (2)(a)(iii).
(3)
(a) If a licensee first becomes licensed during the two-year renewal cycle, the licensee's required number of CE hours shall be decreased proportionately according to the date of licensure.
(b) The Division may defer or waive each CE requirements as provided in Section R156-1-308d.
(4) CE credit shall be recognized as follows:
(a) One live CE hour for attending one Utah State Board of Pharmacy meeting, up to a maximum of two CE hours during each two-year period. These hours may count as "pharmacy law or ethics" hours.
(b) Two CE hours for each hour of lecturing or instructing a CE course or teaching in the licensee's profession, up to a maximum of ten CE hours during each two-year period. The licensee shall document the course's content and intended audience (e.g., pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, pharmacy interns, physicians, nurses). Public service programs, such as presentations to schoolchildren or service clubs, are not eligible for CE credit.
(c) CE credit shall be approved by, conducted by, or under the sponsorship of one of the following:
(i) institutes, seminars, lectures, conferences, workshops, various forms of mediated instruction, and programmed learning courses, presented by an ACPE-approved institution, individual, organization, association, corporation, or agency;
(ii) programs approved by health-related CE approval organizations, provided the CE is nationally recognized by a healthcare accrediting agency and is related to the practice of pharmacy;
(iii) Division training or educational presentations;
(iv) educational meetings that are ACPE accredited and are sponsored by the Utah Pharmacy Association, the Utah Society of Health-System Pharmacists, or other professional organization or association; and
(v) for pharmacists, programs of certification by qualified individuals such as certified diabetes educator credentials, board certification, or other certification as approved by the Division in collaboration with the Board.
(5) A licensee shall maintain documentation sufficient to prove compliance with this section, for a period of four years after the end of the renewal cycle for which the CE is due, by:
(a) maintaining registration with the NABP e-Profile CPE Monitor plan or the NABP CPE Monitor Plus plan; and
(b) maintaining a certificate of completion or other adequate documentation for CE that cannot be tracked by the licensee's NABP plan.

Utah Admin. Code R156-17b-309

Amended by Utah State Bulletin Number 2019-2, effective 12/27/2018
Amended by Utah State Bulletin Number 2019-24, effective 11/25/2019
Amended by Utah State Bulletin Number 2020-22, effective 11/10/2020