Current through the 2023 Legislative Session
Section 6-8-104 - Wearing or carrying concealed weapons; penalties; exceptions; permits(a) A person who wears or carries a concealed deadly weapon is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six (6) months, or both for a first offense, or a felony punishable by a fine of not more than two thousand dollars ($2,000.00), imprisonment for not more than two (2) years, or both, for a second or subsequent offense, unless:(i) The person is a peace officer;(ii) The person possesses a permit under this section;(iii) The person holds a valid permit authorizing him to carry a concealed firearm authorized and issued by a governmental agency or entity in another state that recognizes Wyoming permits and is a valid statewide permit; or(iv) The person does not possess a permit issued under this section, but is a resident of the United States and otherwise meets the requirements specified in paragraphs (b)(ii) through (vi), (viii) and (ix) of this section and possession of the firearm by the person is not otherwise unlawful.(b) The attorney general is authorized to issue permits to carry a concealed firearm to persons qualified as provided by this subsection. The attorney general shall promulgate rules necessary to carry out this section no later than October 1, 1994. Applications for a permit to carry a concealed firearm shall be made available and distributed by the division of criminal investigation and local law enforcement agencies. The permit shall be valid throughout the state for a period of five (5) years from the date of issuance. The permittee shall carry the permit, together with valid identification at all times when the permittee is carrying a concealed firearm and shall display both the permit and proper identification upon request of any peace officer. The attorney general through the division shall issue a permit to any person who: (i) Is a resident of the United States and has been a resident of Wyoming for not less than six (6) months prior to filing the application. The Wyoming residency requirements of this paragraph do not apply to any person who holds a valid permit authorizing him to carry a concealed firearm authorized and issued by a governmental agency or entity in another state that recognizes Wyoming permits and is a valid statewide permit;(ii) Is at least twenty-one (21) years of age;(iii) Does not suffer from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a firearm;(iv) Is not ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to 18 U.S.C. section 922(g) or W.S. 6-8-102;(v) Has not been: (A) Committed to a state or federal facility for the abuse of a controlled substance, within the one (1) year period prior to the date on which application for a permit under this section is submitted;(B) Convicted of a felony violation of the Wyoming Controlled Substances Act of 1971, W.S. 35-7-1001 through 35-7-1057 or similar laws of any other state or the United States relating to controlled substances and has not been pardoned; or(C) Convicted of a misdemeanor violation of the Wyoming Controlled Substances Act of 1971, W.S. 35-7-1001 through 35-7-1057 or similar laws of any other state or the United States relating to controlled substances within the one (1) year period prior to the date on which application for a permit under this section is submitted.(vi) Does not chronically or habitually use alcoholic liquor and malt beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired. It shall be presumed that an applicant chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired if the applicant has been involuntarily committed, within the one (1) year period prior to the date on which application for a permit under this section is submitted, to any residential facility pursuant to the laws of this state or similar laws of any other state as a result of the use of alcohol;(vii) Demonstrates familiarity with a firearm. A legible photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the courses or classes or a notarized affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization or group that conducted or taught the course or class attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant or a copy of any document which shows completion of the course or class or evidences participation of firearms competition, shall constitute evidence of qualification under this paragraph. Any one (1) of the following activities listed in this paragraph shall be sufficient to demonstrate familiarity with a firearm:(A) Completion of any certified firearm safety or training course utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Wyoming law enforcement academy;(B) Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division of law enforcement or security enforcement;(C) Experience with a firearm through participation in an organized handgun shooting competition or military service;(D) Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state certified or National Rifle Association certified firearms instructor;(E) Be certified as proficient in firearms safety by any Wyoming law enforcement agency under procedures established by that agency; or(F) Honorable retirement as a federal or state peace officer who has a minimum of ten (10) years of service.(viii) Is not currently adjudicated to be legally incompetent; and(ix) Has not been committed to a mental institution.(c) The division may deny a permit if the applicant has been found guilty of or has pled nolo contendere to one (1) or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor offense within the three (3) year period prior to the date on which the application is submitted or may revoke a permit if the permittee has been found guilty of or has pled nolo contendere to one (1) or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor offense within the preceding three (3) years.(d) Except as provided in subsection (cc) of this section, the application shall be completed, under oath, on a form promulgated by the attorney general to include: (i) The name, address, place and date of birth of the applicant;(ii) A statement that, to the best of his knowledge, the applicant is in compliance with criteria contained within this section;(iii) A statement that the applicant has been furnished a copy of this section and is knowledgeable of its provisions;(iv) A conspicuous warning that the application is executed under oath and that a materially false answer to any question or the submission of any materially false document by the applicant may result in denial or revocation of a permit and subjects the applicant to criminal prosecution under W.S. 6-5-303.(e) The applicant shall submit to the division through the sheriff's office in the county of the applicant's residence:(i) A completed application as described in subsection (d) of this section or, if applicable, subsection (cc) of this section;(ii) A nonrefundable permit fee of fifty dollars ($50.00), if he has not previously been issued a statewide permit, or a nonrefundable permit fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) for renewal of a permit;(iii) A full set of fingerprints of the applicant administered by a law enforcement agency. The actual cost of processing the set of fingerprints required in this paragraph shall be borne by the applicant;(iv) A photocopy of a certificate or an affidavit or document as provided by paragraph (b)(vii) of this section;(v) If applicable, the items listed in subsection (cc) of this section.(f) The sheriff's office shall forward items received under subsection (e) of this section but shall retain ten dollars ($10.00) of each original permit fee and five dollars ($5.00) of each renewal permit fee. The division, upon receipt of the items listed in subsection (e) of this section, shall process the full set of fingerprints of the applicant for any criminal justice information. The division shall submit a fingerprint card to the federal bureau of investigation for a national background check. The cost of processing the fingerprints shall be payable to the division.(g) The sheriff of the applicant's county of residence shall submit a written report to the division containing any information that he feels may be pertinent to the issuance of a permit to any applicant. The written report shall state facts known to the sheriff which establish reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant has been or is reasonably likely to be a danger to himself or others, or to the community at large as a result of the applicant's mental or psychological state, as demonstrated by a past pattern or practice of behavior, or participation in incidents involving a controlled substance, alcohol abuse, violence or threats of violence as these incidents relate to criteria listed in this section. The written report shall be made within thirty (30) days after the date the sheriff receives the copy of the application. The sheriff of the applicant's county of residence shall notify the chief of police, if any, of the applicant's place of residence of the application for a concealed firearm permit by the applicant. The chief of police shall submit written comments to the division under the guidelines prescribed in this section. Submitted comments shall not be considered a public record.(h) The sheriff of the applicant's county of residence may, at his discretion, submit a written report to the division recommending immediate issuance of a concealed firearm permit prior to the mandatory fingerprint processing. The written recommendation shall specifically state that the sheriff has personal knowledge that the applicant is qualified to be issued a permit.(j) The sheriff of the applicant's county of residence may, at his discretion, submit a written report to the division recommending the issuance of a concealed firearm permit to an applicant between eighteen (18) and twenty-one (21) years of age who meets the requirements specified in this section. The written recommendation shall specifically state that the sheriff has personal knowledge of the applicant's situation or circumstances which warrant the issuance of a concealed firearm permit. The division may issue a permit to carry a concealed firearm to those individuals between eighteen (18) and twenty-one (21) years of age under circumstances that a reasonable, prudent person would believe warrant the issuance of a permit to carry a concealed firearm. The decision to issue a concealed firearm permit shall be based on the satisfactory completion of the requirements of this section and any voluntary written report offered by the sheriff of the county of the applicant's residence which shall clearly state the reasons the applicant should be issued a permit. The applicant may submit a written report containing relevant facts for consideration by the division.(k) An applicant shall pay the cost of fingerprinting services for one (1) set of fingerprints and shall not be charged for any additional services necessary to obtain a legible set of fingerprints.(m) The division shall, within sixty (60) days after the date of receipt of the items listed in subsection (e) of this section, either:(ii) Deny the application based on the ground that the applicant fails to qualify under the criteria listed in this section or upon reasonable grounds for denial specified under subsection (g) of this section. If the division denies the application, it shall notify the applicant in writing, stating the grounds for denial and informing the applicant of a right to submit, within thirty (30) days, any additional documentation relating to the grounds of denial. Upon receiving any additional documentation, the division shall reconsider its decision and inform the applicant within twenty (20) days of the result of the reconsideration. The applicant shall further be informed of the right to seek review of the denial in the district court pursuant to the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act, W.S. 16-3-101 through 16-3-115. No person who is denied a permit under this section shall carry a concealed firearm under a permit issued in another state, so long as he remains a resident of this state, and he remains ineligible for a permit in this state.(n) The division shall maintain an automated listing of permit holders and pertinent information, and the information shall be available on-line, upon request, at all times to all Wyoming law enforcement agencies.(o) Within thirty (30) days after the changing of a permanent address, or within thirty (30) days after the loss or destruction of a permit, the permittee, including any permittee under paragraph (a)(iii) of this section, shall so notify the division. Violation of this subsection may result in cancellation or revocation of the permit.(p) In the event that a permit is lost or destroyed, the permit shall be automatically invalid, and the person to whom the same was issued may, upon payment of a five dollar ($5.00) fee to the division, obtain a duplicate, upon furnishing a notarized statement to the division that the permit has been lost or destroyed.(q) A permit issued under this section shall be revoked by the division:(i) If the permittee becomes ineligible to be issued a permit under the criteria set forth in this section; or(ii) For any conviction of any offense involving a controlled substance, alcohol abuse while carrying a concealed weapon or any crime of violence or a plea of nolo contendere to any of these crimes.(r) Repealed by Laws 1995, ch. 147, § 1.(s) The permittee may renew his permit on or before the expiration date by filing with the sheriff of the applicant's county of residence the renewal form, a notarized affidavit stating that the permittee remains qualified pursuant to the criteria specified in this section, and the required renewal fee. The permit shall be renewed to a qualified applicant upon receipt of the completed renewal application, appropriate payment of fees and the division shall verify that the criminal history information available to the division does not indicate that possession of a firearm by the applicant would constitute a violation of state or federal law. A permittee who fails to file a renewal application on or before its expiration date shall renew his permit by paying a late fee of ten dollars ($10.00), but no late fee shall be charged for permits renewed by deployed armed force members through the additional renewal period under subsection (cc) of this section. Subject to subsection (cc) of this section, no permit shall be renewed six (6) months or more after its expiration date, and the permit shall be deemed to be permanently expired. A person whose permit has permanently expired may reapply for a permit pursuant to subsections (b) through (e) of this section.(t) No person authorized to carry a concealed weapon pursuant to paragraphs (a)(ii) through (iv) of this section shall carry a concealed firearm into: (i) Any facility used primarily for law enforcement operations or administration without the written consent of the chief administrator;(ii) Any detention facility, prison or jail;(iii) Any courtroom, except that nothing in this section shall preclude a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in the courtroom;(iv) Any meeting of a governmental entity;(v) Any meeting of the legislature or a committee thereof;(vi) Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms, except as provided in W.S. 21-3-132;(vii) Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic liquor and malt beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to that purpose;(viii) Repealed by Laws 2018, ch. 85, § 1.(ix) Any elementary or secondary school facility, except as provided in W.S. 21-3-132;(x) Any college or university facility without the written consent of the security service of the college or university; or(xi) Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or regulation or state law.(u) All monies collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the general fund.(w) All funds received by the sheriff pursuant to the provisions of this section shall be deposited into the general fund of the county.(y) As used in this section:(i) "Division" means the division of criminal investigation within the office of the attorney general;(ii) "Firearm" means any pistol, revolver or derringer, designed to be fired by the use of a single hand.(z) By March 1 of each year, the division shall submit a statistical report to the governor and to the joint judiciary interim committee indicating the number of permits issued, revoked, suspended and denied.(aa) Notwithstanding the provisions of W.S. 1-39-105 through 1-39-112, the attorney general and members of the division of criminal investigation are immune from personal liability for issuing, for failing to issue and for revoking any concealed firearms permit under this section. A sheriff, police chief, employee of a sheriff or police chief's office shall not be personally liable for damages in a civil action arising from any information submitted pursuant to subsections (g) through (j) of this section. Nothing in this section shall relieve any governmental entity of any liability pursuant to W.S. 1-39-101 through 1-39-120.(bb) No list or other record maintained by the division or other law enforcement agency pursuant to this section, which identifies an individual applicant or permittee shall be considered a public record. Applications, listings and other records maintained pursuant to this section which identify an individual shall be made available to other law enforcement agencies for purposes of conducting official business. The statistical report provided pursuant to subsection (z) of this section shall be a public record.(cc) The attorney general shall by rule and regulation provide a procedure under which a person who is in active military service outside the state of Wyoming, or who is a military spouse as defined by rule of the attorney general residing with a person in active military service outside the state, but otherwise meets the requirements specified in subsection (b) of this section may apply for a permit or a renewal of a permit to carry a concealed firearm under this section without appearing in Wyoming. An application for a permit or renewal under this subsection shall be filed with the division of criminal investigation and accepted during active military service outside the state. Members of the armed forces who are deployed outside the United States and whose permits expire during their term of deployment shall be permitted to renew their permits through the deployment period and not later than six (6) months after returning to the United States after deployment. An expired permit which is not renewed prior to the end of the extended period provided in this subsection shall be deemed to be permanently expired as provided in subsection (s) of this section. Except as provided in this subsection, requirements for applications for all renewals under this subsection shall be the same as those required for non-late renewals under subsection (s) of this section, together with verification of active military status, deployment outside the United States, termination of deployment outside the United States and marital status, all as applicable and as required by rule of the attorney general. Applications, other than renewals, under this subsection shall require:(i) The items listed in subsection (d) of this section;(ii) Proof of residency in a form acceptable to the attorney general that shows the applicant meets the requirements specified in subsection (b) of this section;(iii) Certification of the applicable person's active military service outside the state;(iv) A notarized affidavit from the applicant testifying in writing that the statements in the application are true and accurate. The affidavit required by this paragraph subjects the applicant to criminal prosecution under W.S. 6-5-303; and(v) Any other information required by rule and regulation of the attorney general, including proof of the marriage of the military spouse and the person in active military service outside the state, if applicable.Amended by Laws 2021 , ch. 113, § 1, eff. 7/1/2021.Amended by Laws 2020 , ch. 129, § 1, eff. 3/24/2020.Amended by Laws 2018 , ch. 85, § 1, eff. 7/1/2018.Amended by Laws 2017 , ch. 209, § 2, eff. 7/1/2017.Amended by Laws 2017 , ch. 114, § 1, eff. 3/2/2017.Amended by Laws 2016 , ch. 49, § 1, eff. 7/1/2016.Amended by Laws 2011 , ch. 84, § 1, eff. 7/1/2011.