Current through Bulletin 2023-05, March 1, 2023
Section R156-31b-303 - LPN, RN, and APRN License Renewal - Professional Downgrade - Continuing Education(1) Under Subsection 58-1-308(1), the renewal date for the two-year renewal cycle for licensees under Title 58, Chapter 31b, Nurse Practice Act, is established in Section R156-1-308a. (2) Renewal procedures shall be in accordance with Sections R156-1-308b through R156-1-308l.(3) Each applicant for renewal shall comply with the following continuing competency requirements: (a) An LPN or RN shall complete one of the following during the two-year period immediately preceding the date of application for renewal:(i) licensed practice for not less than 400 hours;(ii) licensed practice for not less than 200 hours and completion of 15 contact hours of approved continuing education; or(iii) completion of 30 contact hours of approved continuing education hours.(b) An APRN shall comply with the following: (i)(A) be currently certified or recertified in the licensee's specialty area of practice; or(B) if licensed prior to July 1, 1992, complete 30 hours of approved continuing education and 400 hours of practice; and(ii) if authorized to prescribe controlled substances, comply with Section R156-37-402 and Section 58-37-6.5.(c) A MAC shall complete eight contact hours of approved continuing education related to medications or medication administration during the two-year period immediately preceding the application for renewal.(4) A licensee who wishes to downgrade the license in conjunction with a renewal or reinstatement application shall: (a) comply with the competency requirements of Subsection (3)(a);(b) pay required fees, including any late fees;(c) submit a completed renewal or reinstatement form as applicable to the license desired; and(d) complete and sign a license surrender document as provided by the Division.(5) A licensee who obtained a license downgrade may apply for license upgrade by: (a) submitting the appropriate application for licensure complete with the supporting documents required for an initial application for license, demonstrating the applicant meets the current qualifications for licensure;(b) meeting the continuing competency requirements of Subsection (3); and(c) paying the license fee for a new applicant for licensure.
Utah Admin. Code R156-31b-303Amended by Utah State Bulletin Number 2021-02, effective 1/8/2021Amended by Utah State Bulletin Number 2022-01, effective 12/27/2021