Utah Code § 76-5-402.1

Current through 1/29/2020
Section 76-5-402.1 - Rape of a child
(1) A person commits rape of a child when the person has sexual intercourse with a child who is under the age of 14.
(2) Rape of a child is a first degree felony punishable by a term of imprisonment of:
(a) except as provided in Subsections (2)(b) and (4), not less than 25 years and which may be for life; or
(b) life without parole, if the trier of fact finds that:
(i) during the course of the commission of the rape of a child, the defendant caused serious bodily injury to another; or
(ii) at the time of the commission of the rape of a child the defendant was previously convicted of a grievous sexual offense.
(3) Subsection (2)(b) does not apply if the defendant was younger than 18 years of age at the time of the offense.
(4)
(a) When imposing a sentence under Subsection (2)(a) and (4)(b), a court may impose a term of imprisonment under Subsection (4)(b) if:
(i) it is a first time offense for the defendant under this section;
(ii) the defendant was younger than 21 years of age at the time of the offense; and
(iii) the court finds that a lesser term than the term described in Subsection (2)(a) is in the interests of justice under the facts and circumstances of the case, including the age of the victim, and states the reasons for this finding on the record.
(b) If the conditions of Subsection (4)(a) are met, the court may impose a term of imprisonment of not less than:
(i) 15 years and which may be for life;
(ii) 10 years and which may be for life; or
(iii) six years and which may be for life.
(5) Imprisonment under this section is mandatory in accordance with Section 76-3-406.

Utah Code § 76-5-402.1

Amended by Chapter 290, 2017 General Session ,§ 1, eff. 5/9/2017.

Amended by Chapter 81, 2013 General Session ,§ 5, eff. 5/14/2013.

Amended by Chapter 179, 2008 General Session