From Casetext: Smarter Legal Research

In re Apple iPod iTunes Antitrust Litig.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN FRANCISCO DIVISION
Jan 12, 2012
NO. C 05-00037 JW (N.D. Cal. Jan. 12, 2012)

Opinion

NO. C 05-00037 JW

01-12-2012

The Apple iPod iTunes Antitrust Litigation


ORDER RE. JOINT PROPOSAL

REGARDING NOTICE PLAN

Presently before the Court is the parties' Joint Proposal Regarding Notice Plan. (hereafter, "Joint Proposal," Docket Item No. 698.) In their Joint Proposal, the parties contend that dissemination of notice to the class in this case should "be deferred until after the Ninth Circuit rules on Apple's Rule 23(f) petition for interlocutory review of [the] Court's November 22, 2011 class-certification decision." (Id. at 2.) In particular, the parties contend that deferral of the dissemination of notice will "avoid the possibility of the Class receiving two conflicting [n]otices," which will "serv[e] the public interest by avoiding 'the risk of significantly confusing the class consumers.'"

On December 6, 2011, Defendant Apple filed a Petition for Permission to Appeal Order Granting Class Certification pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(f) with the Ninth Circuit. (hereafter, "Petition," Docket Item No. 697.)

(Id. (citing Order Granting Defendants' Motion to Stay Proceedings at 6, Docket Item No. 493 in No. C 07-05152 JW).)
--------

Upon review, the Court finds good cause to defer the dissemination of notice until after the Ninth Circuit has ruled on Defendant Apple's Petition. Accordingly, the Court declines to consider the Joint Proposal at this time. If the Ninth Circuit denies the Petition, the parties shall renotice the Joint Proposal within ten days of the Ninth Circuit's ruling.

_________________

JAMES WARE

United States District Chief Judge

THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT COPIES OF THIS ORDER HAVE BEEN DELIVERED TO:

Alexandra Senya Bernay xanb@rgrdlaw.com

Alreen Haeggquist alreenh@zhlaw.com

Andrew S. Friedman afriedman@bffb.com

Bonny E. Sweeney bonnys@rgrdlaw.com

Brian P Murray bmurray@murrayfrank.com

Carmen Anthony Medici cmedici@rgrdlaw.com

Caroline Nason Mitchell cnmitchell@jonesday.com

Craig Ellsworth Stewart cestewart@jonesday.com

David Craig Kiernan dkiernan@jonesday.com

Elaine A. Ryan eryan@bffb.com

Francis Joseph Balint fbalint@bffb.com

George A. Riley griley@omm.com

Helen I. Zeldes helenz@zhlaw.com

Jacqueline Sailer jsailer@murrayfrank.com

John J. Stoia jstoia@rgrdlaw.com

Michael D Braun service@braunlawgroup.com

Michael D. Braun service@braunlawgroup.com

Michael Tedder Scott michaelscott@jonesday.com

Robert Allan Mittelstaedt ramittelstaedt@jonesday.com

Roy Arie Katriel rak@katriellaw.com

Thomas J. Kennedy tkennedy@murrayfrank.com

Thomas Robert Merrick tmerrick@rgrdlaw.com

Todd David Carpenter tcarpenter@bffb.com

Richard W. Wieking, Clerk

By: _________________

Susan Imbriani

Courtroom Deputy


Summaries of

In re Apple iPod iTunes Antitrust Litig.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN FRANCISCO DIVISION
Jan 12, 2012
NO. C 05-00037 JW (N.D. Cal. Jan. 12, 2012)
Case details for

In re Apple iPod iTunes Antitrust Litig.

Case Details

Full title:The Apple iPod iTunes Antitrust Litigation

Court:UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN FRANCISCO DIVISION

Date published: Jan 12, 2012

Citations

NO. C 05-00037 JW (N.D. Cal. Jan. 12, 2012)