Murphy Oil USA

Not overruled or negatively treated on appealinfoCoverage
United States Court of Appeals, Fifth CircuitFeb 26, 2010
598 F.3d 208 (5th Cir. 2010)

Cases citing this case

How cited

  • Freeman v. Grain Processing Corp.

    …However, in an unusual result, a petition for rehearing en banc was granted and then dismissed for a lack of…

  • Abecassis v. Wyatt

    …Comer v. Murphy Oil, 585 F.3d 855 (5th Cir. 2009), which the plaintiffs cite in support of their attenuated…

lock 4 Citing caseskeyboard_arrow_right

Analyses written by attorneys


1 Analysiskeyboard_arrow_right

No. 07-60756.

February 26, 2010.

F. Gerald Maples (argued), Carl Dwight Campbell, III, Machelle Rae Lee Hall, F. Gerald Maples, P.A., Carlos A. Zelaya, II, Maples Kirwan, L.L.C., New Orleans, LA, for Plaintiffs-Appellants.

Kerry J. Miller, Benjamin Melvin Castoriano, Paul C, Thibodeaux, Frilot, L.L.C., New Orleans, LA, Shellye V. McDonald, Richard Patrick Salloum, Franke Salloum, P.L.L.C., Gulfport, MS, for Murphy Oil USA, Universal Oil Products and Honeyell Intern., Inc.

Michael Raudon Phillips, Louis Matthew Grossman, Anthony Michael Williams, Kean, Miller, Hawthorne, D'Armond, McCowan Jarman, L.L.P., New Orleans, LA, for Universal Oil Products and Honeywell Intern., Inc.

Mary S. Johnson, Johnson Gray McNamara, L.L.C., Mandeville, LA, Daniel Paul Collins, Munger, Tolles Olson, L.L.P., Los Angeles, CA, David Lee Martindale, Cypress, TX, Thomas M. McNamara, Johnson, Gray, McNamara, L.L.C., Lafayette, LA, for Shell Oil Co. and Chevron USA, Inc.

Richard L. Forman, Forman, Perry, Watkins, Krutz Taedy, L.L.P., Jackson, MS, John F. Daum, O'Melveny Myers, Los Angeles, CA, Thomas Lynn Carpenter, Carr, Allison, Pugh, Howard, Oliver Sisson, P.C., Gulfport, MS, Rick Richmond, Brent L. Caslin, Kenneth Kiyul Lee, Kelly Marie Morrison, Jenner Block, L.L.P., Los Angeles, CA, for ExxonMobil Corp.

William Lee Watt, Christopher Ray Fontan, Brunini, Grantham, Grower Hewes, P.L.L.C., Jackson, MS, for Allegheny Energy, Inc. and Reliant Energy, Inc.

Kathleen Taylor Sooy, Tracy Roman, Scott L. Winkelman (argued), Crowell Moring, L.L.P., Washington, DC, Robert Donald Gholson, Gholson, Burson, Entrekin Orr, P.A., Laurel, MS, for Alliance Resource Partners, LP, Alpha Natural Resources, Inc., Arch Coal, Inc., Consol. Energy, Inc., Found. Coal Holdings, Inc., Intern. Coal Group, Inc., Massey Energy Co., Natural Resource Partners LP, Peabody Energy Corp. and Westmoreland Coal Co.

Michael B. Gerrard, Nancy Gordon Milburn, Arnold Porter, L.L.P., New York City, John Gwin Wheeler, Mitchell, McNutt Sams, P.A., Tupelo, MS, for BP America Production Co. and BP Products North America, Inc.

Peter D. Keisler, Quin Mikael Sorenson, Sidley Austin, L.L.P., Washington, DC, for Cinergy Corp. and Duke Energy Corp.

Kenneth W. Barton, Benjamin McRae Watson, Butler, Snow, O'Mara, Stevens Cannada, P.L.L.C., Ridgeland, MS, for ConocoPhillips Co.

Timothy S. Bishop, Justin Bishop Grewell, Herbert L. Zarov, Mayer Brown, L.L.P., Chicago, IL, Ronald G. Peresich, Michael Edward Whitehead, Page, Mannino, Peresich McDermott, P.L.L.C., Biloxi, MS, Charles, Stephen Kelley, Mayer Brown, L.L.P., Houston, TX, for Dow Chemical Co.

Raymond Michael Ripple, Donna L. Goodman, DuPont Legal, Wilmington, DE, Lawrence E. Abbott, Abbott, Simses Kuchler, Covington, LA, for E.I. DuPont De Nemours Co.

Charles Edwin Ross, William B. Lovett, Jr., Wise, Carter, Child Caraway, PA., Jackson, MS, for Entergy Corp.

Edwin Warren Small, Asst. Gen. Counsel, TVA, Knoxville, TN, for TVA.

Thomas E. Fennell, Michael L. Rice, Jones Day, Dallas, TX, John G. Corlew, Kathy K. Smith, Corlew, Munford Smith, P.L.L.C., Jackson, MS, Kevin Patrick Holewinski, Jones Day, Washington, DC, for Xcel Energy, Inc.

Robert E. Meadows, Jonathan Lawrence Marsh, Trade Jo Renfroe, King Spalding, L.L.P., Houston, TX, for Chevron USA, Inc.

Robert Allen Long, Jr., Covington Burling, L.L.P., Washington, DC, for American Petroleum Institute.

Raymond Bernard Ludwiszewski, Gibson, Dunn Crutcher, L.L.P., Washington, DC, Ellen J. Gleberman, Ass'n of Intern. Auto. Mfrs., Arlington, VA, for Ass'n of Intern. Auto. Mfrs., Inc., Amicus Curiae.

Edgar Robert Haden, Michael David Freeman, Balch Bingham, L.L.P., Birmingham, AL, F. William Brownell, Hunton, Williams, L.L.P., Washington, DC, Mark, Wendell DeLaquil, David Boris Rivkin, Jr., Baker Hostetler, L.L.P., Washington, DC, Jonathan Paul Dyal, Ben H. Stone, Balch Bingham, L.L.P., Gulfport, MS, Norman, W. Fichthorn, Allison, D. Wood, Hunton Williams, L.L.P., Washington, DC, Douglas Alton Henderson, Troutman Sanders, Atlanta, GA, Shawn Patrick Regan, Hunton Williams, L.L.P., New York City, for Edison Elec. Institute, American Pub. Power Ass'n, Nat. Rural Elec. Coop. Ass'n, Am. Farm Bur. Fed. Nat. Ass'n of Mfrs., and Am. Tort Reform Ass'n, Amici Curiae.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Southern District of Mississippi; Louis Guirola, Jr., Judge.


Opinion October 16, 2009, 5th Cir., 2009, 585 F.3d 855)

(Revised Opinion October 22, 5th Cir., 2009, 585 F.3d 855)


Chief Judge Jones, and Judges King, Wiener, Garza, Benavides, Southwick and Haynes are recused and did not participate.


A member of the court having requested a poll on the petitions for rehearing en banc, and a majority of the circuit judges in regular active service and not disqualified having voted in favor,

It is ordered that this cause shall be reheard by the court en banc with oral argument on a date hereafter to be fixed. The Clerk will specify a briefing schedule for the filing of supplemental briefs.