Law360 Names Practice Groups of the Year

As it appeared on Law360

By Melissa Maleske

Law360, Chicago (January 9, 2017, 6:06 PM EST) — Law360 congratulates the winners of its 2016 Practice Group of the Year awards, the law firms that racked up victories in litigation and closed the big deals to make their mark among clients and throughout the legal industry.

With an eye toward landmark matters and general excellence, Law360 selected 157 winning groups across 34 practice areas. In the awards program’s seventh year, the Practice Groups of the Year hailed from 80 law firms and rose to the top of 619 submissions.

Three law firms secured the most practice group wins to unseat last year’s three champions and nab the coveted title of Firms of the Year. Mayer Brown LLP and Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP each garnered seven wins, while King & Spalding LLP won accolades in six practice areas.

They weren’t the only firms to earn multiple Practice Group of the Year honors. With five wins apiece are Gibson Dunn, Kirkland & Ellis LLP, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP and Sullivan & Cromwell LLP.

And earning honors in four practice areas are Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, Covington & Burling LLP, Jones Day, O’Melveny & Myers LLP and Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP.

Profiles of the winning practice groups will begin running in the Law360 newsletters on Jan. 16.

Congratulations to this year’s Practice Group of the Year winners:


Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Gibson Dunn

Outten & Golden LLP

Sanford Heisler LLP

Seyfarth Shaw LLP